Be the right kind of Muslim! Okay, But as per whom?

“We should have a Sharia State”… Sure thing.. But whose Sharia will you apply?

“You should be a good Muslim”… But a good Muslim as per whom?

“Follow Islam”… But whose Islam?

Should I be a good Muslim and follow the Islam as per the Shia, Sunni, Wahabi, Salafi, Hanafi, Deobandi, Barelvi? Whose Islam should I follow?

These questions have been bothering me for the last few weeks! It is not only the recent protest that seem to have sparked some sort of ununderstandable religious sentiments in people! The feeling is the culmination of a lot of events that have taken place in the last few months in this country of the Pure.

– It is the killing of Shia, after separating them from people of other faith by using their ID cards.

– It is the killing of two Qadyani Shopkeepers – who I knew and met everyday – because they were Kafir.

– It is the bombing and attack near the Bohri Jamat Khana.

I was raised to believe that religion is a personal matter, but today a friend curtly points me out, that No it is not.. it is not when you have to be worried each and every day when crossing the road even, that your religion may have you killed.

I would never be the right kind of Muslim, I will never be able to satisfy anyone with my faith… and I should not have to! But I do worry, about the chain of reactions and hate that these events will ignite…

I worry, for I heard it in my friend’s words, who expressed his views by saying “How long will we too stay quite?”

 

2 thoughts on “Be the right kind of Muslim! Okay, But as per whom?

Leave a Reply

