I confess it.. I am a party throwing-holic

This fact was brought to my attention by a friend, who knew me  when I was a kid, and with whom I again became acquainted a year ago… Hey Noman …that I have always been obsessed with throwing parties. Now, I don’t know if the word obsessed is particularly flattering for my condition or not, but I do know, that yes I like (meant in the most mildest sense ever) to throw parties. I just love the idea of having friends over and sitting and talking to them. And since I am the only one who likes to cook and try new recipes, I have never in my life have had any issue with being the host.

So last night while working I decided, that I need a final party and blow my steam night before I plunge myself into my thesis year, and since I wont be allowed to go out for a party, I might as well bring the party over to my place.

There is also one more reason for doing this! See my tradition of having lunch

Tequila Chicken Image from Pioneerwoman.com

at my place every Eid has been shattered due to a friend getting married …Hello Sara! Obviously she can’t make it on that day since now she has other priorities.. so time to shift the tradition a bit! But well I came  up with that reason later on! Still, it’s a good one! So new tradition.. dinner/ lunch/whatever at my place every first Saturday of the new year! So this year it come down to the 1st of January 2011, which is a Saturday..Isn’t that great!

So now comes the recipe selection part. First comes the Appetizers:

Okay so I can not NOT try this. The mozzarella Cheese Sticks, and then there is this recipe in by PW on Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Thingies.. but since I can’t make that (religious restrictions) I am thinking of altering it and making it into Chicken Wrapped Potato Thingies. And finally there is one last item, although I am not sure about it. Its called the Parker House Rolls, but since I suck at making bread, and also the fact that’s its winter here so I doubt that it would work. But lets see.

Then the side dish: Now I am confused about whether to go for Baked Lemon Pasta or Cajun chicken Pasta. I think I will go for the Baked Lemon.. It’s a bit different.

Then comes the Salad: For that I am tossing between Beef with Snow Peas or Big Steak Salad.. I think I will use the Beef with Snow Peas… but I am using that onion rings idea for this one too…. (Don’t kill me PW)

And then comes the main dish: hmmm now I have absolutely no idea what to do for this.. I was thinking of going for Stuffed chicken breast recipe that I have in my collection stuffed with rice. But lets just go through my bible shall we! So I like so far Tequila Lime Chicken… only it would have to be without the tequila, Herb Roasted Whole Chicken, then there is White chicken Enchiladas.. now I have tried this before.. and i loved it :). So I guess Non-Tequila Lime Chicken and Enchiladas it is !

Now comes the lovely dessert!My options … these options usually emerge by the image that looked the most delicious… are Salted Caramel Brownie, Creamy Lemon Crumb Squares, Mocha Silk Pie (HEAVEN) and Ice cream Pie with easy Caramel Sauce. Okay so the decision has been severely made easy.. since I don’t like Pecans.. the last two recipes are automatically declined (hey oI am the one who is cooking so my wimps work) and we are having Salted Caramel Brownie and Creamy Lemon Crumb Squares. 🙂

Last minute addition, Potato Bundles!

I forgot the drinks! YES I NEED TO MAKE DRINKS AS WELL! Call it Obsessive Compulsive Disorder! And they are the most difficult, since they have to non-alchaloic! Well but I think that I am now fixed on Virgin Sangria and Iced Black Tea with Milk and Orange! They look good!

So here is the menu, finally, folk. We have

Appetizers: The Mozzarella Cheese Sticks, Chicken Wrapped Potato Thingies, Parker House Rolls

Side Dish: Baked Lemon Pasta, Potato Bundles

Salad: Beef with snow Peas topped with Onion rings

Main Dish: Non-Tequila Lime Chicken, White chicken Enchiladas

Drinks: Virgin Sangria and Iced Black Tea with Milk and Orange

Desserts: Salted Caramel Brownie, Creamy Lemon Crumb Squares

Now that the list is done, I need to invite people to this so far almost an imaginary party! Updates will be posted soon!

Leave a Reply

