Mother’s Day: Corporate Venture or Something more?

A lot has been said about Mother’s Day and there is absolutely nothing more that I can say or add here.. But somehow I have never been able to celebrate this day as is expected from the us now thanks to the media.. they have found one more way to make us feel bad about how they should be showering their mother/father/sister/dog/neighbor with love, flowers, and cards..

See I don’t think that there is anyone out there who doesn’t appreciate what their parents do for them.. And if they don’t then believe me one day won’t change their feelings. But putting all this emphasis on them for one day and then just taking it away from them the other day is just as cruel.. I mean, the love should be constant.. not a day where you can wash away your guilt for the rest of the year.

So yes, you have guessed it right.. I didn’t give my mother anything special, or buried her under tons of flowers, but for me and my sister it has been a constant understanding since we were kids.

Both of my parents worked, and therefore whatever responsibilities were there had to be shared. I have seen my mother and my father return from work at 12 am and at that point they would come pick us up from our grand mother’s house and then take us home. I have seen her struggle as she tried to explain the concept that there are mother’s who work and not just stay home all day and that too is okay. I even remember those nights when my father was in the hospital and my mother would be with him all night and then also try to come home so that she can be with us and not make us feel alone.

There are tons of moments for which I am thankful and grateful for her.. and there are many moments that are to be.. Thank you for everything but I hope you would understand why I won’t limit myself to one day!

Leave a Reply

