Another blast rips the country

Every blast sends new waves of fears through out the country, and makes you reassess the entire political system of this country. Yesterdays blast at the Mosque at Parade lane in Rawalpindi were thus not an exception to this fact.. or at least that is true for me.

The day before yesterday, after many heated arguments I decided to change my stance towards the army. I thought that I would from today onwards limit my hatred towards the Generals and the majors only, and not towards the many soldiers that have lost their lives, either fighting in Swat or Waziristan, or for that matter even during performing their duties at the many residential quaters that they have so lovingly built for themselves and their families with our tax money. After all not everyone in the army is the like of  Zia’s and Ayub’s and Yahya’s and the Musharraf’s. I thought I would change my perspective, but then the blast happened yesterday and did it make my blood boil.

First, it boiled when I heard the news about the blast, then it boiled when I saw the nightly agonizing show of Kamran Khan.. a paid ISI man. He and to be fair, many of the other anchors on many of the other shows clearly highlighted the fact that the bombing of this mosque marks the darkest day in the Pakistani history.

Army cordons off the area after the bomb blast

And that is what ticked me off ! When army officials die, it has to be a dark black day in our history, but when there is a bomb blast on a political rally at the return of a democratic leader where almost 125 CIVILIANS lost their lives is not he darkest day in our history. When the same leader of the largest party of the country dies after wrapping up another rally that even is not the darkest day. However if army is attacked, that counts as the darkest day in our history. Maybe it is because we are bloody Civilians and they are the saviors of this country.

And this hypocrisy makes me reevaluate my stance on the army every single time. And makes me be biased once more.

Leave a Reply

